Friends, nations, countrymen, lend me your ears; I come to bury Kyoto, not to praise it.

Ambassador Guy Saint Jacques, Canada’s lead negotiator, has told us that Canada’s emissions reduction target of 17% below 2005 levels is ambitious. We heard earlier this week that Canada, along with Japan and Russia, will not be willing to make any commitments under a second commitment period of the Kyoto Protocol. We haven’t had a straight answer about why Canada is abandoning Kyoto, but perhaps it has something to do with it just being too darn ambitious. Since it’s Sunday, and CYD’s unofficial day off, I thought I would take a more dramatic tone in responding to this current state of affairs. I apologize profusely to all Shakespeare lovers for the abuse of iambic pentameter.

Friends, nations, countrymen, lend me your ears;
I come to bury Kyoto, not to praise it; 
The evil that treaties do lives after them,
The good is oft interred with their bones,
So let it be with KP… The noble Canada
Hath told you Kyoto was ambitious:
If it were so, it was a grievous fault,
And grievously hath KP answered it
Here, under leave of Canada and the rest,
(For Canada is an honourable state;
So are they all; all honourable states)
Come I to speak in Kyoto’s funeral.
KP was my friend, faithful and just to me:
But Canada says it was ambitious;
And Canada is an honourable state
KP hath brought many targets home to Ottawa,
Whose abandonment did the general coffers fill:
Did this in Canada seem ambitious?
When the oil lobby has cried, Canada hath wept:
Ambition should be made of sterner stuff:
Yet Canada says it was ambitious;
And Canada is an honourable state.
You all did see that at the UN talks
KP enshrined a strong reduction stance,
Which they have since ignored: was this ambition?
Yet Canada says it was ambitious;
And, sure, it is an honourable state.
I speak not to disprove what Canada spoke,
But here I am to speak what I do know.
You all did love KP once, not without cause:
What cause withholds you then to mourn for it?
O judgement! thou art fled to brutish beasts,
And men have lost their reason. Bear with me;
My heart is in the coffin there with Kyoto,
And I must pause till it come back to me.


Leave a Reply

